teacher nominees standing on a stage with awards

Tyler ISD announced its 2023 District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year this evening at the Tyler ISD Teacher of the Year Banquet sponsored by the Cooperative Teachers Credit Union (CTCU); the evening also celebrated the Tyler ISD Rookie and Principal of the Year.

The event began in front of Tyler ISD administrators, board members, and special guests with the announcement of the District’s Rookie of the Year, sponsored by The Mortgage House. The Rookie of the Year award recognizes a teacher who demonstrates outstanding performance and superior instruction skills during their first year. The 2023 Rookie of the Year is Mallory Sims at Andy Woods Elementary School.

The Principal of the Year award, sponsored by Dwell Realty, honors a principal for outstanding leadership among their students, staff, and community. The 2023 Principal of the Year is Dr. NaTasha Crain, Principal at Jones Elementary School.

“We are proud to honor our District Teachers of the Year, Principal of the Year, and Rookie of the Year,” Superintendent Dr. Marty Crawford said. “They have made a significant impact on the lives of young people in our school community, professional community, and the East Texas community. We are grateful for the professionalism and leadership they bring to our organization and their considerable contributions to successful student outcomes.”

CTCU President Tim Miller joined Crawford on stage to honor all 29 campus teachers of the year. Crawford then announced Hartley Bernardino from Bell Elementary School as the District Elementary Teacher of the Year and Claudia Viramontes from Tyler High School as the District Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Bernardino and Viramontes will go on to compete for Regional Teacher of the Year through the Region 7 Service Center.

Dr. Crawford reflected on the evening, “Tonight is one of the many ways we can show our appreciation, championing the Teachers of the Year across the District, the Rookie of the Year, and our Principal of the Year. We’re honored to share the name of our great city as our school system’s name and proud to present our Teachers of the Year as Tyler’s Teachers of the Year.”

Additional sponsors for the event included Tab and Bonnie Beall and the Tyler ISD Foundation.

For more information, contact Jennifer Hines at Jennifer.Hines@TylerISD.org.

We appreciate each of our event sponsors and success partners: 

Abuelo’s, Applebee’s, Bubba’s 33, Caldwell Zoo, Chuy’s, Cotton Patch, CTCU, Dwell Realty, FD’s, Javi’s, Piada’s, Raising Canes, Razoo’s, Rotolos, Spring Creek BBQ, Tab and Bonnie Beall, The Mortgage House, Twelve, and Tyler ISD Foundation 

Recap Video of the Event: