Tyler Independent School District 2021-2022 Board of Trustees. R. Wade Washmon District 1 - President, Aaron Martinez District 5 – Vice President, Artis Newsome District 2, Yvonne Atkins District 3, Dr. Patricia Nation District 4, Lindsey Harrison District 6,   Andy Bergfeld District 7

Click on each board member’s name for individual bio and contact information. 

Board Service

Texas law grants the Board of Trustees the power to govern and oversee the management of the district's schools. The Board is the policy-making body within the district and has overall responsibility for the curriculum, school taxes, annual budget, employment of the superintendent and other professional staff, and facilities. The Board has complete and final control over school matters within limits established by state and federal laws and regulations.

The Board of Trustees is elected by the citizens of the district to represent the community's commitment to a strong educational program for the district's children. Board members are elected by single-member districts and serve staggered 3-year terms. Board members serve without compensation, must be qualified voters, and must reside in the district to which they are elected.

Educational Philosophy & Continuous Improvement Goals